Our new logo…

Welcome to the Kippen Community Council website. Here you can find out a little bit about who we are and what we do.

Community Councils are voluntary organisations set up by statute by Local Authorities and run by local residents to act on behalf of their area. As the most local tier of elected representation, Community Councils play an important role in local democracy.

Community Councils are comprised of people who care about their community and want to make it a better place to live.


We meet on the second Tuesday of every month (except for January, July and August) at 7:30 p.m. in the Reading Rooms. Everyone is welcome to attend. You don’t need to tell us in advance – just turn up and we’ll find you a seat.

Who We Are

The following people currently make up the Community Council

  • Scott Crawford (Secretary)
  • Robert Clubb (Treasurer)
  • Derek Shanks (Chair)
  • Sarah Hill
  • Margaret Beaton (Planning Liaison)
  • Christine Stewart
  • Barbara Ross

What We Do

Our purpose as a Community Council is to consult the local community on all issues affecting them and to tell Stirling Council, and other public bodies, the views of local people. We might also initiate local projects or activities that contribute to the well-being of our community. Please remember that while we can advise, petition, influence and advocate numerous causes and cases of concern on behalf of local people, we are restricted in what we can actually do. In general we will simply be reflecting local views.

Stirling Council must consult us on licensing and planning applications within our area.

Talk To Us

To be effective we need to represent the views of the community so please get in touch if you have any questions, comments or observations.

You can contact us by filling in the contact form on our website or by dropping an email to kippencommunitycouncil@gmail.com or even better turn up to one of our meetings and talk to us in person.